Introduction to Regional Schools Commissioners and Headteacher Boards

Regional School Commissioners (RSCs) and Headteacher Boards (HTBs) were established in 2014.

RSCs are appointed for their extensive knowledge of the education sector within their respective regions. Advised by their HTBs, RSCs have increased the Department for Education’s capacity to pick up local intelligence and inject sector expertise into decision-making.

Each board is made up of no more than eight members; the four who are elected, alongside two who may be appointed by the RSCs on behalf of the Secretary of State, and two who may be co-opted by the board itself. Appointed and co-opted members are recruited because of their sector knowledge or to provide additional skills and expertise to fill any gaps in specific skills and/or expertise. Attendance and participation at HTB meetings - on average every two to three weeks - is a core feature of the HTB membership role. RSCs may also ask members to undertake additional work such as working with MATs to develop their strategic plans, visiting schools, and presenting at events to share the regional strategy with more school leaders and governors, to name just a few.

A complete overview on HTB membership is available in the Terms of Reference for HTBs.

For more information on the role of the National Schools Commissioner and Regional Schools Commissioners please visit:

RSC Regions

The eight RSCs and their regions.

Map of the eight Regional Schools Commissioner regions

List of local authorities within the North of England, North-West London and South Central England, South East England and South London

List of local authorities within the East of England and North East London, East Midlands and the Humber, Lancashire and West Yorkshire

List of regions within South West England and the West Midlands